In a world...

In a world...

_gasp_ another developer blog!!

What is the point of this blog?
I've been working front end development at a very large, worldwide software company for the last 5 or 6 years. This has been a great experience for me, but the downside of working enterprise is that a lot of the gritty details are abstracted away to achieve better uniformity amongst properties. For instance, as a front end developer it is horribly demoralizing to still have to write Backbone and Marionette framework code in 2021. It's disappointing that we don't have control over our application deployments, or the CI/CD pipelines that make that possible.

I want to become a subject matter expert for modern web app standards, and grow my skill set beyond the front end to the full stack.


What type of content might you find here?
Most recently I've been on a crash course of React + Redux for cleaner code, faster app performance, and the ability to use other modern frameworks and build tools ( Webpack seems to play fairly nice with React and Babel, which is a fun new build process I've also been working on understanding. ) As I move between the front and back end, I'm looking to get experience and knowledge of Node, Express, Ruby/ on Rails, and Python/Django, so that will likely show up here also.


What do I hope to accomplish?
Mainly, I want to keep a record of the things I'm learning and playing with. It's helpful to also have a place to practice my documentation and writing skills. Clear communication is as important as engineering skills when you want your customers to pay you for your time.